The Giant of Eritrean Literature: Musa Aron

Author and linguistics expert, the late Memhir Musa Aron

By Mebrahtu Asfaha,

I just read the news that Mr. Musa Aaron passed away. First, my heartfelt condolences go out to his family. Although, regrettably, I have never met him in person, I have known his writings for quite sometime.

I came across his writings by accident when the title of his small book “Werkha” 1 caught my eyes at the Eritrean festival. After reading the book, I became aware that Mr. Mussa Aron was a prolific writer of compelling breath and enlightening depth. He was a passionate author and linguist steeped in the finest traditions of scholarly curiosity, discovery and analysis.

For those who are interested in reading this small book of 119 pages, without spoiling the central narrative, Mr. Musa Aron narrates through insightful research and incisive writing the decadent culture of Eritrean society. However, it is not the culture of our current society, but that of the 1960s, since the first edition of the book  was in 1965. Continue reading

The Giant of Eritrean Literature: Musa Aron

Author and linguistics expert, the late Memhir Musa Aron

By Mebrahtu Asfaha,

I just read the news that Mr. Musa Aaron passed away. First, my heartfelt condolences go out to his family. Although, regrettably, I have never met him in person, I have known his writings for quite sometime.

I came across his writings by accident when the title of his small book “Werkha” 1 caught my eyes at the Eritrean festival. After reading the book, I became aware that Mr. Mussa Aron was a prolific writer of compelling breath and enlightening depth. He was a passionate author and linguist steeped in the finest traditions of scholarly curiosity, discovery and analysis.

For those who are interested in reading this small book of 119 pages, without spoiling the central narrative, Mr. Musa Aron narrates through insightful research and incisive writing the decadent culture of Eritrean society. However, it is not the culture of our current society, but that of the 1960s, since the first edition of the book  was in 1965. Continue reading

The Giant of Eritrean Literature: Musa Aron

Author and linguistics expert, the late Memhir Musa Aron

By Mebrahtu Asfaha,

I just read the news that Mr. Musa Aaron passed away. First, my heartfelt condolences go out to his family. Although, regrettably, I have never met him in person, I have known his writings for quite sometime.

I came across his writings by accident when the title of his small book “Werkha” 1 caught my eyes at the Eritrean festival. After reading the book, I became aware that Mr. Mussa Aron was a prolific writer of compelling breath and enlightening depth. He was a passionate author and linguist steeped in the finest traditions of scholarly curiosity, discovery and analysis.

For those who are interested in reading this small book of 119 pages, without spoiling the central narrative, Mr. Musa Aron narrates through insightful research and incisive writing the decadent culture of Eritrean society. However, it is not the culture of our current society, but that of the 1960s, since the first edition of the book  was in 1965. Continue reading